war­ten auf: war­ten auf godot (Wai­t­ing for: Wai­t­ing for Godot)

a tree with distant performers

“Wai­t­ing for Godot” isn’t com­ing after all. Or not yet. The play­ers from Thea­ter Hora have to stay in their home office becau­se of Coro­na – alt­hough they would have just rehe­ar­sed Samu­el Beckett’s “Wai­t­ing for Godot” with play­ers from Neu­markt. It’s a clas­sic about the sen­se and non­sen­se of human exis­tence, in which Vla­di­mir and Estra­gon wait and Dodot does­n’t come. The pie­ce says, “Only the tree lives.”

We belie­ve that Godot is still com­ing. May­be not today. But tomor­row for sure. Or in spring. That’s why we don’t stop. We can not. That’s just as well, wai­t­ing. And: wai­t­ing is good, you can drink tea there.

As Hora play­er Robin Gil­ly says:

“I like to wait for cas­se­ro­les.
I still like to wait for my left shoe.
I am wai­t­ing for a cold soup.
I am wai­t­ing for a beau­ti­ful life.
I like to wait.
On my left ear.”

We are now experts at wai­t­ing. So ins­tead of a thea­ter per­for­mance, we invi­te you to a thea­tri­cal instal­la­ti­on, with shadows of all that was and traces of what will be when it comes.

A copro­duc­tion with Thea­ter HORA – Stif­tung Züriwerk

 

“The Coro­na Meta­thea­ter: this is pos­si­b­ly one of the new pan­de­mic for­mats of this fall sea­son, which will be remem­be­red later. The play about the play that could not be rea­li­zed. […] ‘Only the tree lives,’ says Wla­di­mir in Beckett’s play. Neu­markt takes this as a star­ting point for a short, light-foo­ted ‘Godot’ reflec­tion, almost without live pre­sence on sta­ge, but in the play with the actors who are ‘distant’ in a dou­ble sen­se. […] And with all the jokes cir­cling wit­hin its­elf, this ‘Godot’ sketch comes clo­ser to Beckett than many other pro­duc­tions.” Nachtkritik

 

No event found! 

with

Noha Badir, Ali­re­za Bay­ram, Robin Gil­ly, Mat­thi­as Grand­jean, Lucas Mau­rer, Sascha Özlem Soydan

Pro­duc­tion Team

Con­cept & direc­tion:
Nele Jahn­ke (Thea­ter Hora)
Manu­el Gerst (Mons­ter Truck)

Sta­ge & props: manu­el gerst

Con­cept & dra­ma­tur­gy:
Julia Rei­chert

Assi­stant direc­tor: Ken­za Nessaf

Sta­ge & probs assi­stant:
Leo­nie Müller

Tech­ni­cal advi­so­ry:
Alex­an­der Buers

Sound:Rolf Lau­re­ijs

Video: Robert Meyer

You might also be inte­res­ted in

unlear­ning acts

war­ten auf: war­ten auf godot

 Ein Baum mit ent­fern­ten Darstellern

War­ten auf Godot kommt doch nicht. Oder noch nicht. Die Spie­ler vom Thea­ter Hora müs­sen wegen Coro­na im Home­of­fice blei­ben – dabei hät­ten sie gera­de mit Spieler*innen aus dem Neu­markt Samu­el Becketts «War­ten auf Godot» geprobt. Das ist ein Klas­si­ker über Sinn und Unsinn der mensch­li­chen Exis­tenz, bei dem Wla­di­mir und Estra­gon war­ten und Godot nicht kommt. In dem Stück steht: «Nur der Baum lebt.»

Wir glau­ben dar­an, dass Godot noch kommt. Viel­leicht noch nicht heu­te. Aber mor­gen bestimmt. Oder im Früh­ling. Des­halb hören wir auch nicht auf. wir kön­nen nicht. Das passt ja gera­de auch, war­ten. Und: War­ten ist gut, da kann man Tee trinken.

Wie der Hora-Spie­ler Robin Gil­ly sagt:

«Ich war­te ger­ne auf Auf­lauf.
Ich war­te noch ger­ne auf mei­nen lin­ken Schuh.
Ich war­te auf eine kal­te Sup­pe.
Ich war­te auf ein schö­nes Leben.
Ich war­te ger­ne.
Auf mein lin­kes Ohr.»

Wir sind jetzt Exper­ten fürs War­ten. Also laden wir statt zu einer Thea­ter­auf­füh­rung zu einer thea­tra­len Instal­la­ti­on ein, mit Schat­ten all des­sen, was war, und Spu­ren davon, was sein wird, wenn‘s kommt.

Eine Kopro­duk­ti­on mit dem Thea­ter HORA – Stif­tung Züriwerk

 

«Das Coro­na-Meta­thea­ter: Das ist mög­li­cher­wei­se eines der neu­en pan­de­mi­schen For­ma­te die­ser Herbst­sai­son, an die man sich spä­ter mal erin­nern wird. Das Spiel über das Spiel, das nicht rea­li­siert wer­den konn­te. […] ‹Nur der Baum lebt›, sagt Wla­di­mir mal bei Beckett. Das nimmt das Neu­markt zum Aus­gangs­punkt für eine kur­ze, leicht­fü­ßi­ge ‹Godot›-Reflexion so gut wie ohne Live-Prä­senz auf der Büh­ne, dafür im Spiel mit den im Dop­pel­sinn ‹ent­fern­ten› Dar­stel­lern. […] Und mit all dem in sich krei­sen­den Scha­ber­nack kommt die­se ‹Godot›-Skizze Beckett näher als man­che breit aus­ge­spiel­te, fet­te Voll­in­sze­nie­rung.» Nachtkritik

 

Kei­ne Ver­an­stal­tung gefunden 

mit

noha badir, ali­re­za bay­ram, robin gil­ly, mat­thi­as grand­jean, lucas mau­rer, Sascha Özlem Soydan

Pro­duk­ti­ons­team

Kon­zept & Regie:
Nele Jahn­ke (Thea­ter Hora)
Manu­el Gerst (Mons­ter Truck)

aus­stat­tung: manu­el gerst

Kon­zept & Dra­ma­tur­gie:
Julia Rei­chert

regie­as­sis­tenz: ken­za nessaf

Aus­stat­tungs­as­sis­tenz:
Leo­nie Müller

Tech­ni­sche Bera­tung:
Alex­an­der Buers

Sound: Rolf Laureijs

Video: Robert Meyer

Das könn­te sie auch interessieren

unlear­ning acts